Slump Days

Ev R0ck
2 min readApr 13, 2024

--

Yesterday one of you messaged me to ask if I was ok, as I hadn’t posted anything here all day. what a nice thing for someone to do, it’s great when my presence, or even lack of one is noticed. That means it’s quite feasible that someone clicks over here every day to read whatever i’m going on about, and that promotes all kinds of warm and pleasant feelings within me.

“I don't have to prove that I am creative” — Talking Heads “Artists Only”

I didn’t have anything to say, and a few months ago something happened, where I stopped wanting to just blog about the fact that I didn’t really have anything to say. I used to have a lot of posts like that and they were getting boring and redundant for me. I still practice writing every day, though. Since January, i’ve taken to keeping a handwritten journal with no intentions but just to write for me, if anything public comes out of it, that’s great. I just really like how these g2 gel pens feel on the blank paper, it’s as satisfying to me as a keyboard.

I used to panic as soon as tons of writing didn’t fall out of me effortlessly like it does when I’m in my little writing focus zones, but now I understand that creativity is cyclical, and it’ll come back at some point.

It’s part of my attempts to be more compassionate with myself, the concept that AI introduced me to a few months ago. I think ideas have to recharge for a period of time, and that’s where i’m at right now.

If you do read my stuff regularly, or at all I want you to know what an honor it is to me. I really mean it, when I started this blog I had no idea that it would get as many readers as it does. I’ll come back with something interesting at some point, just not today.

A huge thanks to those who already follow along! If you find my writing inspiring or entertaining, consider buying me a coffee on Ko-fi. Your support helps me keep creating and means the world to me:

https://ko-fi.com/evr0ck17

--

--

Ev R0ck

Embracing the unconventional path, empowering others to create, connect, and thrive. https://linktr.ee/EvR0cK17