The Angel’s Share

Ev R0ck
3 min readMay 15, 2024

--

Good morning, I wanted to type again because the typing hadn’t typed for a little bit, it was very laborious and I never really liked doing anything that didn’t come easily. That’s probably my most glaring character flaw, if I took an honest appraisal of all of them. That’s not what I came to do, however.

I don’t know what I came to do, I figured i’d just start typing. I like the practice of harnessing my first cup of coffee’s umph into something, like I had been doing for the good part of the last year, and fell out of when I moved over here to S. Richmond Hill.

You might remember the crazy roommate situation back in Hollis that I had to deal with:

I never mentioned that there was another roommate there because he was never home, literally never. I pretty much had the run of the place to myself as a result of his constant absence. When it came time to move here, It was actually Angel (the absent one) who came with me, which I didn’t mind because I figured he’d again never be here. I did not figure correctly.

I don’t want to be a jerk, and constantly complain about the same things over and over. In terms of the roommates I've had in supportive housing (see: terrible), Angel is pretty good. I don’t think he’s going to stab me like Antonio did in 2022, or turn the house into a compost bin like Robin did just a few months ago. He is, however, mentally challenged in ways that make his life more difficult than maybe someone without these challenges would find it. He’s just a bit slow, he needs help to take care of some things, like grocery shopping.

He is always asking me for the things I get at the grocery store, and sometimes I give them to him, but it got to a point where I had to say something like “listen, man. You get more money than I do from disability (which I don’t get yet). I cant afford to feed you all of the time. You have to learn to take care of this stuff.”

I think that’s totally fair, because it’s totally true. If you read this blog, you know that I live on a budget so modest that there are times of the month when i’m unsure how I’m going to keep my belly full. I don’t know how I’m going to proceed if this kid can’t figure out a way to get his own food. At least I know he wouldn’t take anything without my permission, that I've established. He is a decent fellow, not anywhere near as troubling as any crazy roommate I've had, and i’m thankful for that.

I do my best to stay positive. I am going to stay positive, and to do this I think of the ways that one of my dearest friends Heady Mike would look at a situation. Heady Mike is deep in spirituality and the 12 step recovery community, and always has a better way of looking at things than I do.

This is the appraisal I have arrived at: I am selfish, and impatient. So, this universe saw fit to put a situation in my path where I both need to be more patient, and I can be of service to someone else who doesn’t have it as easily as I do. For all of the times I have written about angels being placed in my path in moments where I literally should not have survived, My roommate’s name is none other than Angel. The universe has a sense of humor, because why wouldn’t it?

Everything is connected to everything else, in some way.

Hey, now! Speaking of tight budgets, you can actually support the creation of little posts like this, by helping me afford my internet bill (which I have no idea how i’m going to afford):

https://ko-fi.com/evr0ck17

--

--

Ev R0ck

Embracing the unconventional path, empowering others to create, connect, and thrive. https://linktr.ee/EvR0cK17